Investing and Saving Up as a College student👩🏻‍💻

Hi everyone!

I have been reading up on different posts on here and excited to share my first. I am a third year university student in the UAE and I have been particularly interested in learning how to better track my spending and invest for general wealth!

Managing my expenses mainly focuses on keeping track of my spending, I started off using spreadsheets and also used my banking app. There’s very limited apps available that integrate UAE banks like ADCB or allow me to track spending across all my international cards which can be particularly challenging as I travel a lot for study away and between UAE and my home country.

I am also really interested in building wealth and investing my leftover allowance for graduate studies and general wealth! I am looking into using Sarwa but overall a bit insecure about the whole process as it can be really complicated with lots of paperwork. It can also be daunting as a first time investor- how do I know if a portfolio is ideal for me if it was made solely based on a quick, automated quiz? How do I know what’s the ideal amount to invest as a college student?

I would love to hear your thoughts on this and any investment/saving advice :chart_with_upwards_trend:

3 Likes

We’re really happy to see young students like you with wealth goals looking for solutions to achieve their financial independence.
as student you got an advantage many don’t, TIME! Plenty of it. You can start small and with that time in your hand + enough knowledge, research and fundamental analysis you can build and compound your wealth.
But before starting you might want to understand some basics in investing, you can check out out post here for instance ‎baraka | بركة‎ on Instagram‎: "🙇🏻‍♂️Thinking about #investing can be intimidating, but if you start slow and work your way up, it doesn't have to be. Maybe the first thing to do is decide why and how you want to invest.